Doing laundry

It is four o’clock Thursday afternoon, I’m sitting in the Holiday Inn Express laundry room waiting our turn…we have holed up here in Hiawasee, Georgia as a big storm is headed this way–high winds, hail and pouring rain and tornadoes.  We had enough of that last week.  

So far the trail is really giving us a “hazing” as Dragonfly says.  We climb and climb and climb and still aren’t at the top of the mountain.  Sometimes it is straight up, other times its lots of switchbacks.  Going up is great cardiovascular.  Going down is the same–sometimes gradual, sometimes switchbacks.  I think the downs are harder for both Dragonfly and me–Dragonfly’s feet and my knees. Also for me, is the pain I have over my clavical bone–the shoulder strap padding just isn’t enough for me.

In other news, we needed some supplies from the outfitter, but this town (see above) doesn’t have one.  Big bummer!!!!!  My sleeping pad isn’t holding air, which basically means I’m sleeping on the ground, which is colder and harder than I’d like it to be.

The digital camera stopped working yesterday.  Trying to get it fixed in this town was impossible, so I thought perhaps I might buy a new one, not in this town.

When the laundry gets done, we’ll get cleaned up and then head to dinner out-we are looking forward to someone else cooking and cleaning up.  Then it will be off to bed.

About prairiedog2013

Grew up in the Black Hills of South Dakota, but currently lives in Metro New York. Was a day-hiker years ago, but will soon be a thru-hiker. Loves the outdoors and is looking forward to hiking the Appalachian Trail.
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail, Daily chores and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doing laundry

  1. Susan Woodworth says:

    Ouch. I am feeling your pain, hikers! Hope a good night’s sleep in a dry, comfy bed does you both wonders.

  2. TS says:

    I was thinking of you today and wondering how you were managing carrying and walking with a big backpack and all your supplies. I was using my little backpack with what I needed for work and was feeling it heavy and straining. Could not imagine the weight of yours. Hope you get a good rest and miss the storm. Fixing a digital camera may cost more than buying a new one….unless it is just the battery. If the lens is stuck and won’t open, something may be caught in it…..from the trail….see if you can shake or wipe it out…..
    Happy trails!
    T

  3. JFenton says:

    Well, you may not be whistling “Happy Wanderer” today, but we will carry the tune for you when you can’t… J discovered this weekend that the ice cream truck at the soccer fields plays that tune and cried, “Hey! That’s Dragonfly and Prairie Dog’s song!” We hummed a bar just for you!

  4. KD says:

    Sunny days ahead, no rain for awhile. Hope you are well rested and little less sore today, happy you were not outside last night! “Climb every mountain!” Hope the camera is fixable or new-looking forward to seeing all the pics. Stay safe!

  5. Kit says:

    CD just sent me the link… I will be following your adventures and thrilling vicariously through your mountain-climbing and stream-fording. Looking forward to pics! Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

