Language development on the trail

With stepping off the grid comes a new language.  PD and I have come up with some lingo we would like to share with you all.  When over simplified hiking involves ups,  downs and straightaways.

The ups we call “von Trappes” as in “let us now hike this von Trappe.” Although a noun it can also be used as a verb as well as an adjective.  Such as “let us now von Trappe this von Trapping von Trappe.” The song for these is of course “Climb Every Mountain.”

Straightaways are called “walking in the park. ” I have created a new song for these. When I figure out how to send an audio file I will post it.  For now the lyrics are “we are walking in the park,  we are walking in the park.  It’s what we do;  it’s who we are.  But never,  never after dark.” Catchy, huh?  The second verse is walking in the fog but never with a dog.  The third is walking in the trees but never on our knees.  Oh, this is just going to be a hit!  😉

As for downhills,  we are still working on those.  Our conversation is usually,  “PD, how are your knees? ” “DF,  how are your feet?”
“Technical climbs” are those involving rock to rock to root to…We had quite a bit of those today.  One solution involved sitting on a ROCK and sliding down it. Another involved hugging a tree and swinging around it. (What can I say?  Graceful is not my middle name.)
Finally, we have the “Adirondack”. For those of you who have hiked the Adirondacks you will understand when I say this is when you have to walk in the mud and climbing over,  under and around fallen trees. 
Thus ends our lesson for today!

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Language development on the trail

  1. Marcia Reass says:

    You sure had me smiling as I read your post! Love the one about the Adirondacks 😉 Keep the songs coming and mostly, keep humor in place… sanctuary

  2. David says:

    Hi
    Please be aware~~,not to be fearful but aware
    Reptiles finish their hibernation at about 68 to 70 degrees F
    If you out in the field and smell the scent of cucumber or melon that means that a copperhead or moccasin has smelled you and is sweating. You should look down and step slowly. Pit vipers like pine needles because of the warmth and indeed all pit vipers come out in the morning to sun themselves because they are cold blooded.

  3. KD says:

    Thank you for the language lesson, I am picturing the two of you doing all of this! I hope you are both having a lot of laughs along with this hard work!
    Keep singing and smiling-Stay Safe!

  4. O&R says:

    Not the fastest or the slowest among hikers but certainly the most creative and talented.
    Von Trappe that von trapping von trappe!

Leave a Reply

