People Posts: Dudley and Jerry

We met Dudley and Jerry on April 9 at Hog Pen Gap. They were day hiking down into the gap and we were getting up the gumption to hike up it. 

We had a really sweet conversation but what stays in my memory is how comfortable they were together. Usually I might see this between two people in a long term marriage that has suited both well.  But these two fellows have their own homes and families. 

Instead, their easygoing relationship comes from a 62 year friendship having met in the third grade!  If you look and look away really quickly you can almost see those handsome little 8 year olds in front of you!

This year those little boys turn 70 and they have decided to have a mass 70th birthday party with 20 of their schoolmates. This is one time I wished I met the age requirement just to be at that bash.

Friendship is such an important part of life and I wish each of you such a good friend-especially you men for whom making such friendships is often harder than for women. If you aren’t sure how to do so, I invite you to look up Dudley and Jerry.  I’ve no doubt they can tell you how it works.

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in People Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People Posts: Dudley and Jerry

  1. KD says:

    What a gift for you two to meet these fellows. It is wonderful to see people sharing special relationships like that. I am sure you will meet many more along the way and will share them with us.
    Stay safe.

Leave a Reply

