It Was a Cold and Stormy Night

Early Sunday morning, May 5. 

With quite a bit of good fortune (and prayer) we made it to camp last night, set up, had dinner, hung up the food bag and got into our tent all before the rain started in earnest.

The wind was so fierce last night that I am quite sure the tent would not be here this morning if we hadn’t been in it holding it down!

This morning’s strategy was to get dressed and packed up between the rain storms.  But just as we were dressing,  it started again.  At 6:42am we are crawling back in our bags to wait this one  (hopefully) out.

The goal is to keep our gear dry while we know that we will be plenty wet today!  Planning a 15 mile day so that we can shave our trip to Erwin down from 6 to 5 days.  While the ideal is to get to 13 mile days,  the reality is that you have to hike from camp or shelter to camp or shelter–that has a water supply–and they are not so evenly dispersed.

So,  as you worship this morning know that I am also. I am missing our sanctuary!  A big thanks to Presbyterian Pastor Gene for opening up the sanctuary in Hot Springs for me yesterday.  I sat and prayed and sang the old version of “Be Thou My Vision” from their old well-used hymnals. If you get this in time,  say a prayer for them today.

Blessings on the rainy journey,  Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It Was a Cold and Stormy Night

  1. KD says:

    we will say special prayers for Pastor Gene today and for you both to have many sunny days ahead. Hope the rain ends very soon. Walk carefully, stay safe and thank you for sharing the adventure .

  2. Doug Walter ( trailwalker) says:

    Hope its a little more smooth sailing now , and rain tapers off some for you ..Here in n gerogia its STILL RAINING .. HAPPY TRAILS TO BOTH OF YOU ..

    • dragonfly2013at says:

      Thanks. We are trying to decide whether to take an unexpected zero. With 14 mile an hour winds, 40 degree feel and teeming rain we aren’t sure we want to be up on the ridge in this. Of course, tomorrow’s forecast is similar. What would you do?

      • Doug Walter ( trailwalker) says:

        Hi again , Sorry I wasn’t there to answer you question.. I always went with my intuition to try and help me make my decision on the trail..Sometime , it worked , and sometime it didn’t .Looks like you are making good time , so if it comes up again , you can take that day , and maybe add a few miles for the next few days , and take care of the zero day ..Of course, I was usually by myself , so didn’t have any help from another hiker .You got you buddy( two heads better than one ) and discuss it and decide !.I remember going through Va , I counted it rained 30 days out of the 45 days I hiked in the state ..Looks like you are hitting the same bad luck ..At least , looking on the bright side , no shortage of water for you ..Hope this helps ..Just my opinion , may not work for you .Have a good week hiking , both of you ..Stay safe and enjoy each step as you walk toward POINT B ( Mt. Katadhin )

  3. I was telling my husband Steve about your blogs on the Trail, and he commented that when he walked a portion of the trail in the 70’s, it rained every single day he was on the trail. I think he started walking in July.

  4. Patti says:

    You can find anything on the Internet, even your blog. It was nice catching up!

  5. Al vitters says:

    Enjoyed your “bear encounter”. Kathy & I were camping w/ our year old son in Yosemite when she heard an animal outside. We made a plan, exited the tent, ran to the car & entered just as the bear was exiting from a broken window. The Ranger charged for the site the following AM. ..Hope the rain eases…

  6. b. harned says:

    Esther is keeping track of your journey on Lisa’s kindle. Quit an accomplishment for a 89yr old.
    Safe travels one foot then the other.

  7. Pam says:

    stay safe in God’s sanctuary.

  8. revdrevy says:

    Love to you both. Preached today. Prayed for your journey.

Leave a Reply

