Name that bird!

The other day I saw the most delightful bird!  It was a quick see and then it was gone.  The wings were green–the color of rhodedendrons (sp?)–and its belly is white with dark dashes on it.  Not stripes.  Not dots.  Dashes.  Bigger than a chickadee.  Perhaps the size of a small robin.

Can you name this bird?  I would love to know!  In fact, the first three people who come up with what it is will get their choice of 4 flavors of Pro Bars.  Why three?  I’d like to see if you all agree! 

Thanks so much!

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Name that bird!

  1. Pam says:

    wow you got me. I’ll keep trying. maybe a new bird! Have you been drinking enough water and eating:) Habitat? No yellow?, Where on tree, mid, top, bottom? Oh just enjoy the visitors.

    • dragonfly2013at says:

      We were in a woods. Don’t recall seeing yellow but it was a quick look. Came down to the ground for a moment and then flew up into the tree.

  2. Pam says:

    oh maybe a thrush.

    • dragonfly2013at says:

      Take a look at Al’s entry. He’s a winner! But you are, too, because you gave a response (very similar bird; same family?) So, collect your Pro Bar from Carol R.! Choices are Oatmeal & Raisin, Peanut Butter, Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip, and Double Chocolate.

  3. Al vitters says:

    My guess is an ” ovenbird”- often found in woods; FL – Carolina’s; staccato -like song (teacher/ teacher/ teacher) according to my guidebook…

    Another possibility, based on your description is a form of hummingbird…

    AL V

    I’m watching the plethora of red headed woodpeckers/ robins/ doves/ bluejays/ & grackles drawn to the seed & fresh water daily in our backyard..hike -0n…

    • dragonfly2013at says:

      The ovenbird is what I saw! Thanks, Al! Isn’t it a beautiful bird! So, collect your Pro Bar from Carol R.! Choices are Oatmeal & Raisin, Peanut Butter, Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip, and Double Chocolate.

  4. dragonfly2013at says:

    I will take a look online at the ovenbird (which sounds like a turkey. lol) and let you know. Too big to be a hummingbird. Didn’t fly like the ones I know and the beak wasn’t long like that. Enjoy your bird watching and thanks!

  5. O&R says:

    Could be a mock parakeet according to what bird.com.

  6. Pam K. says:

    Hi!!!! It’s Pam K. My brilliant brother identifies your bird as an “ovenbird” native to N.C. and forrested areas. We are all thinking of you here in Lima! Have fun.

    • dragonfly2013at says:

      Hey Pam! Yes your brother is brilliant! It really is a cool bird! Glad to know you are following along. We are 368 miles in so far. Will be in Virginia by next week. Having fun. Take care. Dragonfly aka T.

Leave a Reply

