When is a ridge not a ridge?

When it is a cliff!!!  The other day we were hiking across a ridge when suddenly all dirt and foliage was replaced with rock–BIG ROCKS!  I suppose seeing “White Cliffs” and “Black Cliffs” on the map should have tipped me off; but that went right by me.

As you can imagine it is a little harder to follow a path when all you have is rocks.  Sometimes the white blazes are infrequent and hard to spot.

At one point as we were trying to figure out whether to go right or left, I went right and Prairie Dog went left.  I came to the edge of the cliff, so I called back, “Not this way.”  Prairie Dog called to me, “It’s this way but don’t freak out,” in a voice that sounded like she was trying not to freak out.

When I got to where she was standing she had the same type of drop off I had come to.  She said, “There are ‘stairs’ over here.”  I defy anyone to take a look at what I was looking at and call them stairs!  I tried not to freak out.

I gave PD my hiking poles and sat down on the edge of the cliff and began to lower myself down on the first “stair”.  From there it was hand over hand–something I would usually do with a harness and a belay; but instead on this day I was doing with a 35 pound pack on my back.

It was crazy!  It was exhausting!  It was so cool!  It took us 2 hours to go about 2 miles.  I wish I could show you pictures of the vistas that we saw as we climbed over the ridge because they were amazing, but had I taken out my phone or the camera to click a photo, I’m not sure I would have still been on the ridge!

Blessings all!  Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When is a ridge not a ridge?

  1. michele says:

    When is a ridge not a ridge? Wow! and Oh My!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. KD says:

    Happy to hear you two are having so much fun!!!???
    Glad you did not take pics but would love to see what you saw!
    Be careful and stay safe.

Leave a Reply

