More milestones

On Tuesday,  May 14, we hiked in North Carolina for the last time!  Since leaving Georgia weeks ago, we have been hiking along the borders of North Carolina and Tennessee.  We have blamed radical climbing angles on North Carolina and thanked Tennessee for switchbacks.  Now we are solidly in Tennessee and will be until we get to Virginia–which we will hitchhike into on Saturday for an event called “Trail Days” (more on that in another post soon!) but will actually hike into on Monday.

The next milestone we hit on Wednesday, May 15, when we passed the 400 mile mark of our journey.  Slow and steady wins the race!

The final milestone I’d like to mention here is that Prairie Dog has her 49th birthday on Sunday!  We will celebrate at Trail Days,  taking a zero day,  and going to church!  What more could we ask for?

I am writing this entry on Thursday night as we get ready to go to sleep.  PD is taking care of her blisters. I have already taken care of mine.  An owl is hoo-ing somewhere near by.  The moon will act as a night light in our tent. At 9:30 we are already up too late!

I hope when I can post this and you get to read it, you will have had a great sleep and be ready to enter the day with hope and delight, with eyes wide open to what God has planned for you today.

Blessings on the journey,  Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More milestones

  1. O&R says:

    Happiest of birthdays to you PD! Enjoy your day!

  2. Happy early birthday Prairie Dog 🙂

  3. KD says:

    Happy Happy Birthday PD! Have a wonderful day.
    Congrats to you both for these amazing milestones!

  4. Peggy Murray says:

    Congratulations on your birthday, enjoy and God bless. I have been following your journey and admire you so much. You have to be in great condition to make a trip as you are doing. Pray for you everynight.
    Peggy Murray

  5. Bruce Harned says:

    Are you ok? We saw the post about Traildays parade in VA and this sun morning saw the article on the car driving into the parade accident. Mom is very worried as we all are. Lets us know your health status please!

Leave a Reply

