Mama said there’d be days like this…

Friday,  May 24
I don’t know…maybe it was because we had done two 21.5 mile days earlier this week.  Maybe it was because it rained every day and our boots have been constantly wet.  Maybe it’s because we were only 15 minutes from the shelter when the sky opened up and soaked us yesterday,  or how it rained and hailed all night against the tin roof with the wind blowing fiercely,  or how the one guy snored at a frantic pace while another guy kept saying, “Would someone nudge that guy and make him stop already (words edited so as not to offend).”

Perhaps it was because when we woke up it was 34 degrees and raining which made us drag our heels so that we didn’t get on the trail until 10:30, or how the whole day was a rock obstacle course and the wind kept trying to knock us off our feet.

I can’t put my finger on it exactly but I have to tell you,  I was having a bad day. Each step was made by sheer determination. Otherwise I would have sat down in the middle of the trail and refused to move (at least that was the picture in my head).

Through sheer grit,  and Prairie Dog’s encouragement combined with counting down the last hour in 15 minute increments, we made it to the next shelter – but shy of our original goal of a camp 1.2 miles north. When I saw the roof of the shelter from around the bend I cried with relief for 3 whole seconds (a virtual breakdown for a Norwegian).

We set up our tent,  ate dinner,  got a good night’s sleep and headed out Saturday morning refreshed. We made up the lost mileage and got back on track with a spring in my step and songs to be sung.

Just thought we should be honest with you about the bad days since we like to tell you all about the good ones.  As a hiker named Steady told us back at Neel Gap in Georgia, “It’s folks our age that are most likely to finish because we’ve got tenacity that the younger hikers don’t have yet. ” (By the way,  Steady is hiking the International Appalachian Trail from Florida to Nova Scotia.)

So thanks for all your encouragement.  It helps us every day.  500+ miles so far.  We’re still moving forward with good spirits and tenacity. 

Blessings on the journey,  Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Mama said there’d be days like this…

  1. michele says:

    Oh man,I can’t believe what you guys have endured so far. My heart goes out to you. I know your guardian angels are with you all the way and rattling their wings in disbelief. But, the theirs this thing called the Holy Spirit living in you both great and strong to pull you through. Or should I say, by the Grace of God go you onward. No question in my mind that this will be your greatest life adventure ever. Your feet may be smaller, and your tummy’s thinner, but you’ll be stronger in every other way.
    Blessings on your heads,
    Michele

  2. michele says:

    (This is the spelling corrected version)
    Oh man,I can’t believe what you guys have endured so far. My heart goes out to you. I know your guardian angels are with you all the way and rattling their wings in disbelief. But, then there’s this thing called the Holy Spirit living in you both great and strong to pull you through. Or should I say,
    by the Grace of God go you onward. No question in my mind that this will be your greatest life
    adventure ever. Your feet may be smaller, and your tummies thinner, but you’ll be stronger in
    every other way.

    Blessings on your heads,
    Michele

  3. Marcia Reass says:

    Hang in there – you are doing a great job! Tears can be such a relief at times 🙂 hugs to you both.

  4. Pam says:

    You are amazing. I would have broken down several times by now. If the constant rain didn’t do it ,It definitely would have been those “stone stairs” I’d still be sitting at the top of them. So keep on moving. The downs make the ups more amazing accomplishments, stories and memories! 🙂

  5. Karen lee Blackman says:

    I have no doubt that you both wiill make it. I think it is imporant to share the up’s and downs…sorry had to do that pun…it paints a clearer picture ..and the rough spots usually are the days and lessons you will remember the most…because you did make it . Much love and prayers your way. karen

    • dragonfly2013at says:

      Hey there! So glad to see you out here on the blog! Thanks for always being a n encourager in my life.

  6. Doug Walter ( trailwalker) says:

    When , I met you both on Blood Mt. , way back when , I had the feeling that you two , would be ones that taking your hike ‘ far and wide” and would be ones that finish what you started, heaven forbid any injury to slow you down from your destinations and goal.. PROUD OF YOU GALS, Remember each step , whether it is hard or easy is one step closer to BIG K..

    • dragonfly2013at says:

      Thank you, Trailwalker, for the vote of confidence. It means a lot to us that you are following our journey.

  7. revdrevy says:

    Wow, I am so proud to know each of you. Strength, endurance, perseverance–you have what it takes!

  8. Mary Grace Lyman says:

    Here’s to tenacity!!! Mary Grace

  9. You guys got this! The important thing is you DIDN’T sit down and give up – I consider that a pretty good milestone. Keep it up!

  10. Jason Hughes says:

    A Cheerful greeting to you both! I have been following your journey, as my sister-in-law is Noelle Nichols and she alerted me of your adventure as my wife and I both wish to do the AT at some point, but for now I will do it vicariously through you two. Would love to meet up w/ you guys when you reach VT for a few day hike. Best wishes and embrace the brutality!

    • dragonfly2013at says:

      Dear Jason, welcome to our mad, mad, world of the AT! I encourage you to start your plans today and pick a year and date to start. Seize the day!

  11. Camille says:

    My heart goes out to you both. I am so glad the next day was good. No matter what, I have no doubt you will accomplish your goal. Hooray for you!

Leave a Reply

