Ch ch ch changes

May 31st.

As we approach the completion of our first two months of this adventure/journey/odyssey I thought you might be interested in some of the physical changes that come about when one decides to walk 10-20 miles a day with a pack on one’s back.

To begin with the obvious, yes I have lost all the extra weight I put on in the last six months prior to arriving at Springer Mountain – and then some. My belt is no longer an accessory; it is a necessity!  For those of you who remember them, my pants resemble parachute pants which I find quite comfortable (although Prairie Dog thinks I should get a smaller pair.) Don’t worry though;  I still have “baby fat” and there’s no chance I will slip down the shower drain because we rarely get to use those anyway (I know “Eeeooh”, but the truth is the truth.)

I suspect my little black dress would fit now but I am not sure that my tree-like legs would suit it.  My once delicate ankles now have a proper sturdiness that one might call “stout”.

I now have new muscles on my arms which I believe you call biceps and triceps?  I haven’t challenged anyone to push ups yet but I think I could do some now – which is novel for me.

PD is currently writing a post on “hiker legs”.  Whatever she says,  know that she has them now and so do I.  It basically means our legs are up to bigger challenges and longer miles without stopping. 

Unfortunately,  we thought when we “got them” that hiking would be easy.  So much for that!  But I will tell you this: I can now leap from rock to rock with a 35 pound pack on my back and – as I discovered only yesterday – while climbing a steep hill with said pack and encountering a snake on the trail – can actually jump straight up in the air like Wiley Coyote.  (Note: neither the snake nor the Dragonfly were harmed in this incident.)

Despite the fact that the state of my feet would end any dreams of foot modeling I might have had,  we are both physically healthy and probably both in the best shape of our lives.

If this post has inspired you to make any changes,  may I recommend a modest walk in comfortable shoes and a balanced diet.  What we are doing out here is a bit extreme.

Blessings on the journey,  Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ch ch ch changes

  1. tpstatic says:

    As your perception of all that God made before He made us grows your seeing allows you to see, perceive and understand, as also your hearing, smell and other sharpened senses, It is no wonder that John took to the wilderness as did Moses and David, In all circumstances their abilities were heightened and their successes were exponential because they like you learned how to use more effectively what God gave them.

    • dragonfly2013at says:

      Thanks for sharing this. These are wise and perceptive words and they are also my prayer! Be well, friend.

Leave a Reply

