“Hiker Legs” Myth or Reality

While we were hiking in Georgia, a lot of people told us that we would be able to hike more miles when we got our “hiker legs”.

I assumed that meant that climbing mountains would be easier, and faster, that my leg muscles wouldn’t ache so much, that there would be less tripping over roots, rocks, twigs and my own two feet.  I thought it would mean that I would have a longer stride or a faster pace, but none of that has happened.  Where are those “hiker legs” I was promised to have?

Something has changed though.  I am a stronger hiker.  I can keep up with Dragonfly a little easier, I can go up the mountains without losing my breath as much, I can look around more and actually see things beyond the trail right in front of me, I’m not quite as tired at the end of the day as I once was.  I don’t think it is because Virginia is considered an “easier” state–it is all hard–bur maybe it would be a lot harder if I didn’t already have my “hikers legs”.

About prairiedog2013

Grew up in the Black Hills of South Dakota, but currently lives in Metro New York. Was a day-hiker years ago, but will soon be a thru-hiker. Loves the outdoors and is looking forward to hiking the Appalachian Trail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

