People Posts: an open letter to Gypsy Dave

(Gypsy Dave is a former thru hiker who fell in love with Damascus on his hike.  He now lives there with his wife and there two dogs.  They have two grown sons who have left the nest. GD was our shuttle driver for both of our 21.5 mile slack packs.)

Dear Gypsy Dave,

You told us that Virginia would be an easier hike, filled with PUDS (pointless ups and downs) but nothing too taxing.  Me being me, I promised you “feedback”. So here it is.

First off,  I would like to describe our first two days after you dropped us back on the trail and I will do so with two quotes. 

First,  to quote Charlie Brown,  “Rocks!”

Second, to quote the Kingston Trio, “The rain is ‘Tess’ (and she poured a bucket on us 15 minutes before we got to the shelter that first night), the fire is ‘Job’ (and he was in the fire ring the next day drying 5 pairs of boots at a shelter we stopped at for lunch the next day), they call the wind ‘Mariah’ (and she tried to push us over the entire next day).”

BUT once that was over it has been very PUDS-y and we have been making good progress!  So,  after a bumpy start I just thought I should admit that you are right!  🙂

Thanks for your timely advice to “walk at a relaxed pace” (quoting one of my favorite writers, Joyce Rupp); it made our 21.5 days less intimidating and I have remembered that advice on a number of other occasions now. Thanks also for your kind service and your generosity. 

Blessings on your family.  Blessings on the journey, Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in People Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

