Worn out hiking boots

After hiking 800+ miles, it is time for new hiking boots.

With this week’s resupply, I had an already-broken-in pair of hiking boots sent to me.  They look so clean!  I’m hoping that this size still fits.  Supposedly your feet grow while you are on the trail.  Some people need larger sized-boots.  If for some reason they don’t fit, I already have a larger backup size waiting for me.

Post script–So I got the broken-in pair and the first day they were fine, but for the last three days my feet have been hurting more, with developing blisters on my heels and toes.  So I guess that my feet have grown–wider, not longer.

I’ve got another pair of hiking boots that are size nine, so I’ll try them. I am hoping that they are wide enough but not to long.  If they don’t work I’ll have to see if I can get to an outfitter for new boots that are my size but wider.  I’ll keep you posted.

About prairiedog2013

Grew up in the Black Hills of South Dakota, but currently lives in Metro New York. Was a day-hiker years ago, but will soon be a thru-hiker. Loves the outdoors and is looking forward to hiking the Appalachian Trail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Worn out hiking boots

  1. TS says:

    800+ miles, what a feat for your feet!!!

  2. Pam says:

    ah the joys of calouses on your feet. I knew some one who hiked barefoot. Not 800 miles though! Congratulations!

  3. songbirdknits says:

    glad you have back up and a plan if that doesn’t work out

    Protect the feet

  4. Camille says:

    Hope the tootsies are feeling better. Good you have a Plan B and C! Hooray for 800+ miles.

  5. Doug Walter ( trailwalker) says:

    Hopefully , you sent your old boots home, so you can have them added them to the ” shoe tree” at Neels Gap (Walasi-yi)Here in GA, for everyone else to admired , after you finish the AT this fall.

Leave a Reply

