The Roller Coaster

July 6
Just ask my mother and she will tell you that I have never liked roller coasters. I’m your merry-go-round, penny arcade, “please let me do the bumper cars” sort of a gal. So when the guide book called a 13.5 mile stretch of the trail “The Roller Coaster”, I tried to keep an open mind but I wasn’t hopeful.  13.5 miles with 12 substantial ups and downs.  Hmmm…where are those bumper cars!

Here is the sign we ran into just before we began.

image

We were not encouraged!  What ensued was 10 grueling hours in 90+ degrees on some of the rockiest terrain we have encountered!  We hiked 14 miles that day but it felt like 20!

The good news is that we have lived to tell the tale and we never have to do it again! 

Now, if they name a part of the trail the “Penny Arcade” – that could be fun. I imagine it would be relatively flat and full of trail whimsy.  How much fun would that be?

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Roller Coaster

  1. Doug Walter ( trailwalker) says:

    Sounds like it hasn’t changed much ..You do bring back memories , some good , some not so good , but that makes the hiking interesting, right.?..Have a good week of hiking ..Hope the weather behaves for you ..

  2. michele says:

    Congrats! That’s an achievement. I expect you’ll encounter some even more challenging terrain as you venture farther north. I’m sure you’ll handle it. Probably no Penny Arcades. Ah vell, vat can you do?

  3. songbirdknits says:

    I love old fashioned roller coasters made out of wood that are meant for fun and not to terrify you like modern metal ones do.

    14 miles that feel like 20, ick

    At least it’s over, congrats you two!

Leave a Reply

