A New York State of Mind

For those of you following the blog, you know that I am not a native New Yorker.  I moved to Brooklyn for graduated school in Aug. 1998-now fifteen years.  There are many songs about the state-I Happen To Like New York, Sunday in New York, the ever popular New York, New York.  My favorite one is Billy Joel’s 1976 version of New York State of Mind.  It has, for me a sense of home, comfort and longing.  In many ways a reminder of the song The Black Hills of Dakota, sung by Doris Day in the movie “Calamity Jane”.

So far, for me, hiking through the state of New York has been the toughest.  As usual, it is a lot of climbing over rocky mountains, but the hardest part for me was emotional.  I was so close to home and wasn’t going there.  My parents came to visit us on the trail, then a group from church.  We stayed at Dragonfly’s friend Karen “Bear”.  At some points, we were just 90 minutes away-and we weren’t stopping at home for a visit.  I was sad and mopey.  It was really hard to want to continue the hike.  I think Songbirdknits described it so well in a comment, “so close and yet so far”.

We are now into Massachusetts, and my longing to be home has lessened.   I know that it won’t be long now, and all too soon the adventure will be over, but I’m ready to be home again.

About prairiedog2013

Grew up in the Black Hills of South Dakota, but currently lives on Long Island, New York. Was a day-hiker years ago, but is now a thru-hiker. Loves living the thru-hikers life. She has hiked nearly 3,000 miles. Her hikes include the Northville Placid Trail (2011, 2012), the Centennial Trail in South Dakota (2012), the Appalachian Trail (2013), the Fjallraven Classic (2014) and many other trails.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New York State of Mind

  1. Pam says:

    Think of it as not leaving NY behind buy we are traveling with you (like many states and people).

  2. Yvonne Wohlhueter says:

    well said, could feel the emotion.

  3. Karen says:

    Sending you light-footed, light-hearted thoughts. Looking forward to the rest of the stories!

  4. tpstatic says:

    Way to Go. Ladies!

Leave a Reply

