One of my favorite trail whimsy!

(In reviewing my photos I came across one of my favorite moments of trail whimsy that occurred back in Virginia.  I will share it as a little picture story.)

Once on a time, Dragonfly went flying and Prairie Dog went running (after Dragonfly) through the woods.  Suddenly,  they came upon a clearing,  a beautiful meadow.

image

And in the meadow there was a sweet bench!

image

“What a lovely bench, Dragonfly!” exclaimed Prairie Dog. “Let us have our late morning porridge here.”

“An excellent idea, Prairie Dog,” agreed Dragonfly and they took off their packs.

image

But before they could sit down, something caught Dragonfly’s eye. There was a tree behind the bench and a hole in the tree behind the bench! And in the hole in the tree behind the bench there was a a box!

image

“Do you see the box in the hole in the tree, Prairie Dog?” asked Dragonfly.

“I do,” said Prairie Dog. “Let me take it out and open it.”

“Yes; do!” exclaimed Dragonfly.

Prairie Dog picked up the box and opened it.

image

Inside was a beautiful plastic orange stone and an inscription that read, “Congratulations! You found a treasure. Enjoy. You earned it. Please pack out all trash. Refill and replace.”

“Dragonfly, it is orange!  Do you want it?” exclaimed Prairie Dog.

“I could not possibly deprive another from such a pleasure!” replied Dragonfly. “Let us gaze upon it and return it to its place for another.” Prairie Dog agreed and returned it to its place in the hole in the tree.

image

“Now let’s have our porridge,” said Prairie Dog.

“A fine idea!” agreed Dragonfly.

They sat down and ate their porridge.

image

And when they had finished they continued on their way with eyes open to their next trail whimsy.

image

Blessings on the journey, Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One of my favorite trail whimsy!

  1. Al & Kathy says:

    Thanks for sharing the great pictures- pretty soon you should be surrounded by the trees in beautiful fall colors- what a sight that will be! Happy trails to you.
    Kathy & Al

  2. Al & Kathy says:

    You got us hooked on those Pro Bar meal bars – especially the oatmeal raisin. They’re great for a lunch on the go!
    Kathy &Al

Leave a Reply

