Sallies

A new record was set on September 3rd.   Thirty (30) Sallies were seen in one day.  What is a Sally you might ask.  A Sally is a eastern (red-spotted) newt.  They are very small, live in damp forests, love the rain and walk on the same trail that we do, oh, and they are orange.  A day of hiking is not complete for me, unless I see a Sally.  I always say good morning to them or a more appropriate greeting.  Sometimes they encourage me as I climb up the mountain.

The previous record was 28 in one day (set back in Virginia).  So a couple of days ago when I saw 12 in the first hour of hiking, I told Dragonfly that perhaps this might be the day to set a new record.  Dragonfly is not as adept at seeing Sallies as I am, but I thought I could use her help in breaking the record.  We had an hour left of hiking when we spotted the 28th Sally, so the record was tied, and then nothing.  We hiked for forty minutes when Dragonfly spotted the 29th Sally.  Hurray a new record, and then five minutes later another one was spotted, 30, a new record.

I love seeing Sallies!

About prairiedog2013

Grew up in the Black Hills of South Dakota, but currently lives in Metro New York. Was a day-hiker years ago, but will soon be a thru-hiker. Loves the outdoors and is looking forward to hiking the Appalachian Trail.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sallies

  1. Al & Kathy says:

    You know you’ve been on the trail a long time when sighting orange
    sallies is such a treat!!!
    Kathy& Al

Leave a Reply

