Success on our first White Mountain!

Today we woke up to rain – a full stop if you want to hike down the steep north side of Mt. Moosilauke. We sat at the hiker hostel this morning talking with Swagger and Trail Wreck about a north to south slack pack (light packs). Our host strongly recommended waiting for the rain to stop as rainy conditions in either direction were hazardous.  At 10 o’clock the weather broke and the four of us loaded in the car with two other hikers,  Smiles and Smirk, to head for the north side of the mountain.

The hike up included rebar and wood steps bolted into places in the rocks. It was a bit like climbing a sky scraper but colder – much colder!

image

image

As we neared the summit visibility decreased.

image

image

And other hikers alerted us to the 50 mile an hour gusts of wind on the summit.  Temperature:30 something.  Our fingers were clumsy but we were dressed for the weather.

The summit was exhilarating!  I yelled to Prairie Dog over the sound of the wind, “I’m on the path; I’m off the path!” as the wind blew us around. I laughed out loud. When we got to the summit, I staggered to the sign and Prairie Dog took this picture:

image

We then stumbled on until we had some shelter in the trees:

image

but it was several miles down before we started to thaw. Returning to the hostel it was hard to believe that the sun was shining and that I was in shirt sleeves.  Prairie Dog was less confident of the change in weather:

image

So far the White Mountains have exceeded our expectations!  Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.

Blessings on the journey, Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Success on our first White Mountain!

  1. Doug Walter ( trailwalker) says:

    Well, look like the weather hasn’t change much since I climb Mt. Moosilauke . I got to remember that your up were my down . Anyway , it was terrible either way ..I remember that I couldn’t hurry it up to get off that mountain to soon .Same weather for me .NO hostel , when I came through ..You lucky girls.. Take care.

    • Marcia Reass says:

      What an accomplishment…the White Mountains, beautifully awesome and so difficult to traverse. Great pictures. Keep up the wonderful work you are doing!

  2. Diane Lobaugh says:

    Enjoying all your news.Eager to see you safely home. Diane L.

  3. Pam says:

    Just make sure you stay on the mountains. And no flying even if you are a dragonfly!:)

Leave a Reply

