The Maine Event

(We have several new entries so read on after this.)

image

image

So here we are in our final state!  Who would have thought almost 6 months ago that we would walk over 1900 miles up through the South, across the Mason Dixon line and ultimately through New England!

image

Maine so far has continued the legacy of the White Mountains with its cliff climbs and rock scrambles.  The paths often look like this.

image

We also triumphed over the hardest mile of the AT called the Mahoosic Notch.  One mile.  Four hours. I kid you not. I only took one photo at the beginning before putting the phone away for safe keeping.

image

Just as people promised it was up and over cliffs and down and under through caves sometimes having to take our packs off to shove them through first.  It was quite the day!

As you can see by our clothes,  it continues to grow colder.

image

When we picked up our last resupply at “The Cabin”, we told the guy there that we were heading for the 100 mile wilderness by car and Katahdin and he said,  “That’s what everyone is doing now.  Go! Go! Go!” Now,  if everyone was jumping off the Brooklyn Bridge, I might hesitate; but this move makes good sense.

The rocks have left us bruised and are sapping our joy. The 100 mile wilderness is said to be a fantastic HIKING experience.  I really miss that.

So,  as we pass over 150 miles of trail I hope you will think kind thoughts of us.  When we finish we will have hiked over 2000 AT trail miles and in excess of 300 other miles given camps and towns.

image

image

image

We are heading out now.  Please keep us in your prayers and thoughts.

Blessings on the journey, Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Maine Event

  1. LClark says:

    Keep going ~ you’re almost there!

  2. Pam says:

    Find some joy in being proud and amazed at the accomplishments along the way!

  3. Doug Walter ( trailwalker) says:

    I am so ,so overjoy for you and your wonderful trip ..Take me back to ’99 when I started my journey of the AT..So glad our paths cross on Blood Mt . Was back up there yesterday, and memories flash to me of our meeting there ..Happy trails to ” BIG K” and stay safe.

  4. Al vitters says:

    Wrap it up…St Paul’s is so proud of our hikers- even Adrienne Brewington…

    Safe return- whenever…

    AL & Kathy

  5. Cheering you on this last leg of your journey. Stay safe.

  6. Wow! This is truly an epic journey, I am amazed at what you have both done! When you get back, I hope you write this all down, it must make for an incredible story😊. We can’t wait to see our favorite through hikers. You are always in our prayers.

  7. Fantastic. I’m not surprised that you two came this far, just amazed by all the beauty you shared. Thank you both

  8. revdrevy says:

    I am so proud of each of you! And it is a humbling privilege to be your friend.

Leave a Reply

