DONE! FINISHED! COMPLETED!

October 5, 12 noon.

image

image

image

After a four hour climb we summited Katahdin and celebrated with thru hikers and day hikers.  I cried.

image

It was very emotional to see in person the sign we had seen over and over again in photos all along the way.

We were particularly blessed in our last days on the trail to reconnect with Midway who we had known at the very beginning of our journey but hadn’t seen since before Virginia,  and Tune who we hadn’t seen since Pennsylvania. It added a bit of poetry to our completion and the hugs were wonderful.

A few views from the day which was sunny and mostly clear:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I suspect it would be nice if I had more to say at this point but I am still digesting the fact that we have hiked, rock scrambled, and cliff climbed for 182 days and now we are done. 

Done? Or maybe just ready to start a new adventure at home.

Blessings on the journey,
Dragonfly aka Rev. Kristina Hansen

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to DONE! FINISHED! COMPLETED!

  1. Peg says:

    I read your final posts with tears in my eyes. I’m so very happy for you both. glad you made it safely to the summit. yeah!!!

  2. Doug Walter ( trailwalker) says:

    A big hardy congratulations for this man down south , who meet you up on Blood Mt. here in GA..After I meet you , I knew that you two would make it ! Just knew it ..Yes, it will be a while before you come off of CLOUD 9 ..Enjoy it with all the emotion that comes with completing such a FEAT . So, so glad I meet you and best wishes to wherever you go from here ..Looks like I having trouble sending the whole message , but maybe you can figure what I trying to say by the part that is being send ..Blessing to both of you ..

  3. Yvonne Bohls says:

    GOD LOVE YOU BOTH!!!

    ________________________________

  4. Marcia Reass says:

    congratualtions and blessings to you both~

  5. TS says:

    Congratulations!!!! Have a good trip home.

  6. Frank and Joanne Gatland says:

    Congratulations, both of you! We’ve followed you step by step through your journey. We’re exhausted!

  7. LClark says:

    Congratulations!

  8. Pam says:

    Congratulations!! although I had no doubt you would not. what an accomplishment to support you for a lifetime. I was on the mountain once and had to be carried (I was 4, and did not reach the top. :))

    • beth says:

      haha, I remember that Pam, but remember none of us made it due to Dad hurting his toe and we had to go back…….maybe an adventure we can try and accomplish some day 🙂 Congratulations “Dragonfly & Praire Dog”. The pictures were fabulous and so much fun to travel along with you on the AT! Blessed you were!

  9. Little Bird says:

    So happy for you!! I can’t believe you ran into Midway and Tune again!

  10. Diane Lobaugh says:

    Well Done! Glad you made it safely. Eager to see you both. Diane L.

  11. Special K says:

    YES!! YES!! YES!! Congratulations to the both of you!! Well done!! I have the biggest smile on my face right now after reading this post! Hollister and I were privileged to have known you. I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YIPPEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. songbirdknits says:

    Plenty of time to spare too! Thank you for sharing your journey in this blog. Beauty fraction of reality but glimpse into your experience

    Best and congrats!

  13. tpstatic says:

    Outstanding! You both deserve to get what you strived Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

