Happy Trails:The 100 Mile Wilderness

What a joy to be off the rock scrambles and back on trails! The 100 Mile Wilderness reminded us that we like to hike!

A sign at the beginning of the wilderness alerted us to the seriousness of our undertaking and the importance of being prepared with plenty of food and all other necessities since resupply in the middle of wilderness was not an option – at least when the sign was erected. 

In more recent years, more tote roads have been built through the wilderness, which I am sure helped with rescue efforts of the injured or under prepared,  but has also helped resourceful hikers figure out resupply options. The most common is paying someone to drive in on one of these very basic roads (bump bump bump bump bump) and hide your resupply in a metal barrel in the woods with a map for you so you can find it.  Yah. Right. Like I’m going to do that; I’m from New York!  We carried our 8 day supply.

Prairie Dog staggered for a few days each time she saddled us up (how we refer to putting on our backpacks), but at least we had everything we needed.

The wilderness immediately began to reward us with beautiful ponds and lakes:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

and Autumn colors:

image

image

image

It was awesome!

Even more awesome was our first sightings of “Big K” – Katahdin!  The 5267 foot mountain we would climb up as our finale!

image

image

image

image

My, my, my!

Other amazing sights along the way included this “fairie land” up on the Ledges:

image

image

image

And we enjoyed our final trail whimsy experiences by participating in it:

image

image

I am quite sure someone will be reassured knowing that the privy has been sanitized for their protection!

We stopped at our last shelter (called “lean tos” in Maine) at lunch time on our last day.  The journal there read like a book of wisdom and blessings as thru hikers said goodbye to those behind them and also gave there real names.  It brought tears to my eyes to read notes by those of whom we had become so fond. Of course I left my “Blessings on the journey” too!

I think this graffiti at an earlier lean to summed up what many were saying in their own words:

image

As we came out the North end of the wilderness on Friday, October 4, the same warning sign was there to greet the southbound hikers.  We took a picture of it although it is probably too weathered for you to read:

image

One last thing to do before the fat lady sings on this adventure – CLIMB BIG K!

Blessings on the journey,
Dragonfly

About dragonfly2013at

Years ago i was walking in nature and a dragonfly landed on my hand. My hiking companion commented,"Change is coming in your life." Indeed, it was! I worked in business where pumps were the fashion. I left it for work where orange shoes are appreciated. This suits me. I love what I do. I just need a break to refresh and so I am! I am the 4th of 11 children. Years ago orange shoes assured that I would not be left behind (we moved a lot)...or suffer face first in a snow drift for too long. I will wear orange laces on the hike. Orange is not in hiking boot fashion at this time. Blessings on the journey. Dragonfly
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Trails:The 100 Mile Wilderness

  1. TS says:

    Thanks for posting photos…..so beautiful. Must be so moving seeing these scenes.

  2. Kathy and Al says:

    What a fantastic adventure you two have experienced – CONGRATULATIONS on completing the journey. Being two of all the hikers who start the AT to actually hike it all is a great achievement- the feeling must be exhilarating!
    Looking forward to your return to NPT. and hearing more about your trail experiences.
    Kathy and Al

Leave a Reply

