I Feel Lucky

SAM_1446

It is late April 2014, I am reading the May 2014 issue of Backpacker magazine.  The inside front cover has a two-page spread about the Fjällräven Classic–a 110 km hike in Sweden.

I am intrigued.  Hiking in Sweden sounds like a great thing.  Being a seasoned thru-hiker and having ancestral roots in Sweden, it could be a dream come true.  I feel lucky!  Of course I am going to win.

And what will I win, you might ask.  The prize consists of 2 airline tickets to Sweden, 2 entries in the Fjällräven Classic and (wait there’s more…) select Fjällräven gear- essentially it will be an all-expenses paid trip to hike.  How can you beat that?

SAM_1447

I go to the web-site listed in the advertisement to sign-up.  It is really easy, fill in name, address and email, then hit the send button.  I ask Dragonfly, “Would you like to enter the contest too?  We could double our chances of winning.”  “Yes” she says, “If you fill out the form”.  I fill in her name, address and email.  I hit the send button.

Then we wait……I feel lucky.

About prairiedog2013

Grew up in the Black Hills of South Dakota, but currently lives on Long Island, New York. Was a day-hiker years ago, but is now a thru-hiker. Loves living the thru-hikers life. She has hiked nearly 3,000 miles. Her hikes include the Northville Placid Trail (2011, 2012), the Centennial Trail in South Dakota (2012), the Appalachian Trail (2013), the Fjallraven Classic (2014) and many other trails.
This entry was posted in Equipment, Fjallraven Classic, Magazine, Sweden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

